Calls for Nominations: AESA 2020 Critics' Choice Book Award Selection Committee and Books

Call for Critics Choice Book Award Selection Committee Members

The AESA Critics Choice Book Award Committee is seeking interested AESA members to serve a three-year term as a Critics Choice Book Award Selection Committee Member. During the time period of June 1 – September 1, 2020, the committee will review texts nominated for the award as outstanding titles of interest to foundations scholars. Depending on the number of individuals who volunteer to be on this committee, members will be asked to review approximately 4 books. Committee members get to keep the books that they review.

Please read through the information below and let me know of your interest to be considered for the committee no later than May 1, 2020 ( Selection for the committee will be based on considerations of diversity of membership. In your email please include the following information:

  1. rank
  2. discipline
  3. race/ethnicity
  4. gender
  5. geography
  6. scholarly interest
  7. type of institutional affiliation (e.g. liberal arts vs. research institutions)
  8. other factors of diversity which merit consideration

Call for 2020 Critics Choice Book Award Nominations

The AESA 2020 Critics Choice Book Award Selection Committee (CCBASC) announces the call for book nominations to be considered for the 2020 Critics Choice Book Award. Book recipients of the award will be honored at the 2020 Annual Meeting of the American Educational Studies Association in San Antonio, TX, and will be displayed in our Book Exhibit room.

The CCBASC is eager to identify and bring attention to texts that are of general appeal, interest and significance to the area of Foundations of Education. Through an open nomination process, we hope to produce a broad range of nominated titles across all areas of Foundations of Education, including scholarship that foregrounds historical, philosophical, sociological and/or cultural studies approaches to educational inquiry. We seek to maintain the spirit of the Critics Choice Book Award (outlined in the AESA bylaws) as a noncompetitive way to call attention to outstanding contemporary publications, which may be of interest and professional use to AESA members in their scholarship and teaching.

ONLY CURRENT AESA MEMBERS ARE ALLOWED TO NOMINATE BOOKS; one book nomination per member. Publishers may not nominate books. Only 12 books will be selected to win the Critics Choice Book Award, and of those 12 awards, only 3 can go to non-AESA members. Books with a publication date earlier than 2017 will not be considered for the 2020 Critics Choice Book Award. Self-nominations are allowed. To nominate a text, please include the full citation as well as a brief rationale (no more than 100 words) outlining how the book demonstrates excellence according to the following criteria: 1) relevance to Foundations of Education and the mission of AESA; 2) originality of research; 3) scholarly or intellectual impact on the field; and/or 4) significance of topic.

Please submit all nominations by May 1, 2020, to Ellie Blair, Chair of the CCBASC, at In order to expedite the review process, it is requested that individuals making a nomination (or the author(s) of the nominated book) simultaneously request that the publisher send 4 review copies to the following address:
Dr. E. Blair
Western Carolina University, School of Teaching & Learning
Reid 100
Cullowhee, NC 28723


Thank You to Our 2019-2020 Institutional Sponsors